When learning something new, just enjoy the journey.

Joshua Bell Playing Violin

In this goal-focused society, we’re always putting the most emphasis on reaching the end of a goal. We, as humans, always want to gain a skill in the least amount of time as possible. I’m sure you have seen those ads that say, “Be Fluent in Japanese in One Month!”, or “Learn how to program in C++ in just 14 days!” or others that are very similar. Why is it that we’re so attracted to gaining skills quickly? We like to focus a lot of energy on when we will finally be able to enjoy the delicious fruits of our hard labor, and that’s why I think we don’t put any focus on actually having fun and enjoying the journey of learning the skill itself.

When Bill Gates created Microsoft do you think his goal was to create one of the largest computing companies ever, or do you think he was just some kid in his garage who actually enjoyed programming and loved technology? I think the same can apply to Steve Wozniak. Was he just focusing on making a big company like Apple, or was he simply having fun tinkering with computers? I’m sure the thought of making a successful company crossed their minds a lot but it wasn’t their main focus. They were having a lot of fun doing what they loved and it naturally turned out great. I agree that it’s good to have goals, but I don’t agree with being goal-oriented. Instead, why not try being fun-oriented?

What do I mean by fun-oriented? I mean that instead of focusing on a big goal, just have fun doing what you love to do. You won’t have to worry about when you’ll get to see the fruits of your labor, because you won’t think of it as labor at all. You’ll have so much fun, and you’ll enjoy yourself so much that trust me, you will definitely see the fruits. The more time you spend doing something the more you improve at it. That’s true, and when you’re having so much fun that you forget about time you improve even faster. Who do you think will be better at guitar? The guy who plays 1 hour every 3 days because he wants to cover a song from another band, or the guy who plays 6 hours every day just because he loves to hear the sounds that instrument can make? I think you can see where I’m going with this. If you’re having fun doing something, skill should come naturally. You won’t worry about the end goal as much, and you definitely won’t worry about time.

P.S. – If you enjoyed the journey while reading this blog, then you should follow me on twitter here, and add me to your circle on google+ here.
P.P.S. – Do you guys have any opinions on being goal-oriented? What do you think about having fun doing something instead of worrying about the end goal and the time in which you’ll get “good”? Let me know in the comments!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jana  On August 5, 2011 at 12:09

    I completely agree with this! It reminds me of something my mom always says: “Do what you love and the money will follow.” Sometimes if you focus too much on the end result of something, the process can lose its appeal and start to feel like a chore to you. And since it’s really hard to motivate yourself to do something you enjoy, ironically it will be much harder to actually achieve the end result you’re aiming for!

    • Prize (@derickprize)  On August 6, 2011 at 23:20

      Thank you for reading!

      I never heard of that phrase before but it makes total sense. If you’re doing what you love then you will put more effort into it and do a better job.

  • Paul Smith  On September 19, 2012 at 10:22

    Thank you Derick,
    I was very tensed about my exams, now I feel I should just enjoy studying.
    I am from now on fun-oriented and I mean it.

    Paul Smith,
    India

  • SD  On February 14, 2014 at 23:31

    you wrote my heart out Derick.

  • Chyma  On September 3, 2015 at 05:47

    I feel so anxious about what happen next. In my last semester, I feel guilty for not have such a goal that makes me become success. I don’t have such company dream etc. What I feel is I can’t do anything, I don’t have any skill at all while my friends are focuss on their post-carrer. I feel like I’ve been so wrong with my study. I feel stressed about something that not happen yet. Then I read your article that makes me realize what I miss.. So I really hope tomorrow will be optimistic and totaly loveee everything I do. The most important is: Less Worries. Thank you for this cheerful article <3

Leave a Reply

