A shark’s view: College

I’ve only been in college for two days and I already hate it. Why do we have to pay thousands upon thousands of dollars to go to a university and learn a topic? You can learn most of the things taught in college for free on the internet in a quarter of the time. College doesn’t make any sense to me at all. I’m paying for a social experience not a learning experience. Still, why is that social experience so expensive? If I wanted to socialize with strangers, which I don’t at the moment, I would find places to do that for cheaper than a university. Why do I have to get myself into debt and attend college for 4 years to get a degree that says I have experience in a particular field? That degree doesn’t prove anything about one’s skills in my opinion, and I think college is useless. The irony about it is, when I’m at college I’m actually less motivated to learn than if I’m by myself on my computer.

I kid you not, but in every single class I was in today, someone’s phone went off. I’m majoring in Computer Science so the classrooms usually have computers in them. Half of those kids were browsing the internet and checking their Facebook accounts instead of actually listening to the lecture. It made it extremely difficult for me to focus, and I was dreading it the entire time. Should learning be like this? Why won’t anyone hire me unless I spend 4 years in this dreaded place to earn a degree that barely proves anything?

When I was sitting in the class for lecture I kept hearing people asking the question, “Will this be on the test?” “Will you remove points if we do it like this on the test?” “Do you prefer it like this on the test?”. Who cares about a test? I’m in it to learn a topic because I’m genuinely interested not because I need to pass an exam. I don’t want to be around an environment where people don’t value learning for what it is, and instead do it because they want to pass an exam. It really aggravates me, but I feel sad for those who view learning that way. Don’t they ask themselves, “Is this money really worth it?” Well, if you spend your time worrying about exams and homework all the time, instead of the joy of learning something new, it probably is.

I’m most likely writing this post because I’m angry at the fact that I owe money to the college and I might change my mind later. What are your views on college? Tell me in the comments below!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • tanoshimini  On August 31, 2011 at 21:18

    I agree with your views. I find it ridiculous how you need a piece of paper to prove yourself “competent” but hey? what can you do. Maybe when we are older we might realise the value. But for now, I don’t see the “point”

    I went to college here and graduated in 1 and a half years – tourism. Although it’s not a degree, a diploma. I’ve just dropped out of Uni (multimedia design), as I felt the course didn’t satisfy my needs and was what not I perceived. I might go back next year, only 2 years this time, to finish my previous major that I enjoyed (int hotel + tourism). But I ask myself, do I really need a degree, just to prove that I’m competent doing something someone can train me at work to do? And I can tell that some people who do have a degree, can be incompetent as someone who doesn’t have a degree. But it can work both ways

    With college, that’s the norm. Most people are there to pass the tests, it doesn’t matter if you learn or what not. No one wants to be there, me myself included and hence I browse the web in class. You gotta realise in uni, people feel a sense of freedom, as opposed to “high school” Where teachers remind you to turn your phone off, etc. At the end of the day, it’s the lecturer’s or whoever make the exams, test you on what they “want” you to know, not what “you” want to know.

    Excuse for the long comment!

    • Prize  On September 1, 2011 at 08:13

      Tanoshimini, 久しぶりだね?

      Yes, the college system isn’t the best but I’m a hypocrite because I don’t have anything better to offer at the moment.

      To me, it seems like the internet is revolutionizing the education system and we’re going to push forward in that route. Since everyone is always using phones and computers I can see that happening.

      Thank you for commenting and don’t worry about the length.

  • Paul Smith  On September 19, 2012 at 11:25

    Wow .. Just what I wanted to hear.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

